Huron School District #2-2

TwitterLink.pngFacebookLink.png

Instagram.jpg

Schools Huron Middle School Clubs and Activities

Tennis | Golf | Cross Country | Gymnastics | Wrestling | Football | Volleyball  Basketball | Track 
Destination Imagination | Band | Vocal | Orchestra |
 | Special Olympics | Student Council | Soccer | TAP | Play | Oral Interp


Wrestling

 

Mike Postma

Head MS Coach

michael.postma@k12.sd.us

Dru Strand

Asst. MS Coach

Dru.Strand@k12.sd.us

 

  


 

Football

Al Steffen

8th Grade Coach

allen.steffen@k12.sd.us

Tony Thomas

8th Grade Coach

tony.thomas@k12.sd.us

 

Jason Hill

7th Grade Coach

jason.hill@k12.sd.us

 

 

Craig Jones

7th Grade Coach

craig.jones@k12.sd.us 

 

 

Schuyler Holtrop

7th Grade Coach

schuyler.holtrop@k12.sd.us

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  


 

 

 

Volleyball

Kelly Hennrich

8th Grade Coach

kelly.hennrich@k12.sd.us

Alexis Urena 

8th Grade Asst. Coach

 

Lisa Kissner

7th Grade Coach

lisa.kissner@k12.sd.us

Sarah Carr 

7th Grade Asst. Coach

 

  


 

Basketball

 Boys Basketball

Tony Thomas

8th Grade Coach

tony.thomas@k12.sd.us

Schuyler Holtrop

7th Grade Coach

schuyler.holtrop@k12.sd.us

Al Steffen

8th Grade Coach

allen.steffen@k12.sd.us

Carson Britzman 

7th Grade Coach

 

 

 

Girls Basketball

Abby Hayenga

8th Grade Coach

abby.hayenga@k12.sd.us

Heather Sieh

8th Grade Coach

heather.sieh@k12.sd.us

Travis Ladwig

7th Grade Coach

travis.ladwig@k12.sd.us

Lisa Kissner

7th Grade Coach

lisa.kissner@k12.sd.us

 

 


 

Track

Tony Thomas

8th Grade Boys Coach

tony.thomas@k12.sd.us

Wade Stobbs

8th Grade Girls Coach

wade.stobbs@k12.sd.us

Julie King

7th Grade Boys Coach

julie.m.king@k12.sd.us

Lisa Kissner

7th Grade Girls Coach

lisa.kissner@k12.sd.us

 

 

 


 

Tennis

Girls Coach:  Rachel Kary

rachel.kary@k12.sd.us

 

Boys Coach:  Tim Hedblom

tim.hedbloom@k12.sd.us

 

 


 

Golf

 Coach:  Chris Rozell

chris.rozell@k12.sd.us

 

 

 


 

Cross Country

Coach:  Angie Thomas

angie.thomas@k12.sd.us

 

 

 


 

 

Gymnastics

Coach:  Julie King

Email: julie.m.king@k12.sd.us

 

 

 


 

 

Destination Imagination

Colleen Jensen, District Coordinator

Email: colleen.jensen@k12.sd.us

Destination Imagination (DI) has been in the Huron Middle School for seven years. The Destination Imagination program is a fun, hands-on system of learning that fosters students’ creativity, courage and curiosity through open-ended academic Challenges in the fields of STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics), fine arts and service learning. Our participants learn patience, flexibility, persistence, ethics, respect for others and their ideas, and the collaborative problem solving process. Teams may showcase their solutions at a tournament.

 

 


 

 

Band

Julie Berger

Director

julie.berger@k.12.sd.us

Phone: (605) 353-6900 

The Huron School District offers Band in Grades 5-12.If your student is interested in joining any of our groups, please contact Mrs. Berger. You can also find more information at the following places:

Facebook: Huron Music Parents
Twitter: @HuronTigerMusic
Website: www.hurontigermusic.com

 

 


 

 

Vocal

Director: Teresa Smith

Email: teresa.smith@k12.sd.us

 

My name is Teresa Smith and I am the vocal music and general music teacher here at Huron Middle School. I am also in charge of our middle school fall play. I am starting my 28th year of teaching and I have been at HMS since 1999. 

On weekends, you can find me at my church where I'm the music director. 


I have three children. Two of them are grown and have exciting careers. My third is a student at HHS. 


My husband and I have been married for nearly 28 years. We enjoy spending time at the river going fishing and spending time with our family. 

 

 


 

Orchestra

Director:  Beth Neittzert

Email: beth.neitzert@k12.sd.us

Beth Neitzert, 5th-8th Grade Orchestra 

 

Welcome to the 2018-2019 Middle School Orchestra!  I am excited for a great year of making music in orchestra at the middle school as well as 5th grade at Washington.  

 

My past teaching experiences include private string lessons and middle school orchestra in Aberdeen, SD.  I have a B.S. in Music Education, a Masters in Music/Music Education, and am currently a doctoral candidate for a DMA in music education research through Boston University.  I am the orchestra chair on the South Dakota Music Educator's Association as well as the choir director and church accompanist at Riverview United Methodist Church in Huron.  I play violin as concertmaster in the LyricWood Orchestra at Dakota Wesleyan University and the Aberdeen University Civic Symphony at Northern State University.  

 

 

 

 

 


 

Special Olympics

Director: Amanda Katzenberger

Email:amanda.katzenberger@k12.sd.us

 

The Huron Public School District Special Olympics team is involved in three sport seasons through out the school year. The first sport season is bowling in the fall, second sport season is basketball and cheerleading in the winter, and the last sport season is track and field in the spring. Any questions or concerns please contact Amanda Katzenberger.

 

 


 

Student Council

Director:  Michelle Johnson

Email: michelle.johnson@k12.sd.us 

 


SOCCER

Boys Coach:  Leah Branaugh

leah.branaugh@k12.sd.us

 

Girls Coach:  Myranda Holtrop

myranda.holtrop@k12.sd.us

 


 

 

Oral Interpretation 

(Spring)

Coaches: Kristi Winegar & Kira Carabantes