SPECIAL MEETING **HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION** REMOTE – ZOOM – SCHOOL DISTRICT WEBSITE April 27, 2020 - 5:30 p.m.

Due to meeting size restrictions and social distancing restrictions, the Huron Board of Education is conducting their meetings remotely on-line using Zoom, a software for conducting on-line meetings. The meeting can be viewed live from a link on the School's website at http://huron.k12.sd.us/watch-school-board-meetings. In the days following the meeting, the meeting can also be viewed on the local cable TV public access channel 6.

Roll Call: Garret Bischoff, President, and members: Tim Van Berkum, Shelly Siemonsma, David Wheeler, and Craig Lee. Superintendent Terry Nebelsick and Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

Bischoff called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Bischoff led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Lee, second by Van Berkum, and unanimously carried to adopt the agenda as amended. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berkum – Yes; and Bischoff – yes.

Dates to Remember – May 4 Special Board of Education Meeting – 5:30 p.m. – Zoom – Coronavirus Update & Planning. May 11 Board of Education Meeting – 5:30 p.m. – Zoom. May 18 Special Board of Education Meeting – 5:30 p.m. – Zoom – Coronavirus Update & Planning. May 25 Memorial Day. May 26 Board of Education Meeting – 5:30 p.m. – Zoom – TUESDAY.

Community Input for Items not on the Agenda

None.

Conflict Disclosure and Consideration of Waivers

None.

Motion by Siemonsma, second by Lee, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda including the following items: (1) The hiring of Darla Schaefers/Substitute-School Nutrition/\$14.35 per hour; and Sonia Malley/High School Administrative Assistant/\$37,341 per year. (2) Contracts for Marli Ball/3rd Grade Teacher – Madison 2/3 Center/\$44,369 per year; Sophie Beers/2nd Grade Teacher – Madison 2/3 Center/\$44,369 per year; and Megan Kopfmann/3rd Grade Teacher – Madison 2/3 Center \$44,369 per year. (3) The resignations of Charity Stahl/ESL Teacher-Madison 2/3 & Washington 4/5 Center/2 years; Janet Christenson/Teacher – HMS/3 years; and Cassandra Timm/Teacher-Madison/4 years. (4) Price increases for concession program pricing for the 2020-2021 school year. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berkum – Yes; and Bischoff – yes.

Celebrate Successes in the District

Superintendent Nebelsick reported on the successes in the District.

Reports

- A. President Bischoff announced Terry Nebelsick has been named South Dakota's 2020 Outstanding School Superintendent of the Year.
- B. Superintendent's Report Terry Nebelsick presented the Superintendent's report to the Board.

Old Business

Superintendent Nebelsick provided an update on the COVID-19 planning.

Motion by Wheeler, second by Siemonsma, and unanimously approved to set May 28 as the last school day for students and June 3 as the last contract day for teachers. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berkum – Yes; and Bischoff – Yes.

New Business

Motion by Van Berkum, second by Siemonsma, and carried to designate American Trust Insurance as the school's local agent for property & liability insurance for 2020-2021 and pay them \$7,500. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Abstain; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berkum – Yes; and Bischoff – Yes.

Motion by Wheeler, second by Lee, and unanimously carried to approve construction change order G-3 from Mills Construction in the amount of \$27,162. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berkum – Yes; and Bischoff – Yes.

Motion by Siemonsma, second by Lee, and unanimously carried to enter into executive session at 6:21 p.m. pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 Executive or closed meetings may be held for the sole purposes of: (4) Preparing for contract negotiations or negotiating with employees or employee representatives. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berkum – Yes; and Bischoff – yes.

President Bischoff declared the Board out of executive session at 6:53 p.m.

Motion by Van Berkum, second by Siemonsma, and unanimously approved to adjo	urn at
6:53 p.m. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; Van Berku	m - Yes;
and Bischoff – Yes.	

Garret Bischoff, President	Kelly Christopherson	Business Manager