SPECIAL MEETING HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION INSTRUCTIONAL PLANNING CENTER MAY 4, 2018 – 12:00 p.m.

Roll Call: Tim Van Berkum, President; and members David Wheeler, Shelly

Siemonsma, Craig Lee, and Garret Bischoff. Garret Bischoff and Craig Lee participated via telephone. Superintendent Terry Nebelsick and Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

Tim Van Berkum led the Pledge of Allegiance.

New Business

Motion by Wheeler, second by Siemonsma, and unanimously carried to approve the resignations of Christin Hemen/ESL Teacher- Madison 2-3 Center/2 years; Dennis Eckmann/Maintenance Technician/2 years; Kristen Steffen/TAP Program /1 year; Joanna Lyons/2nd Grade Teacher- Madison 2-3 Center/2 years; and Mario Acuna/Bus Driver/6 months. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Bischoff – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; and Van Berkum – Yes.

Motion by Siemonsma, second by Wheeler, and unanimously carried to approve contracts for Linda Pietz/Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment/\$78,000 per year; Rodney Mittelstedt/Director of ESL, Federal Programs, and Accreditation/\$78,000 per year; Kathie Bostrom/Director of Transportation/\$52,000 per year; Jonathan Schouten/Head Boys' Basketball Coach/\$8,326 per year; and Jessica Dawson/8th Grade Math Teacher/\$43,354 per year. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Bischoff – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; and Van Berkum – Yes.

Motion by Wheeler, second by Siemonsma, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 12:11 p.m. Roll call vote: Siemonsma – Yes; Bischoff – Yes; Lee – Yes; Wheeler – Yes; and Van Berkum – Yes.

Tim Van Berkum, President Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager