SPECIAL MEETING HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION SUPERINTENDENT'S OFFICE MAY 18, 2016 – 4:00 p.m.

<u>Roll Call:</u> David Wheeler, President; and members: Garret Bischoff, Tim Van Berkum, and Kerwin Haeder. Superintendent Terry Nebelsick, and Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by David Wheeler.

Motion by Van Berkum, second by Haeder, and unanimously carried to adopt the agenda.

New Business

President Wheeler explained that Sherman Gose has made notification that he moved his residence out of the Huron School District. Per SDCL 13-8-23 (4), a vacancy on the school board occurs if a school board member ceases to be a resident of the school district. Per SDCL 13-8-25, if a vacancy occurs due to a school board member ceasing to be a resident of the school district, the vacancy shall be filled by the remaining school board members. The appointee shall qualify as if elected at or before the next school board meeting, and serve until the next succeeding election at which time a successor shall be elected to serve the unexpired term.

President Wheeler asked for nominations of district residents to serve as School Board Member for the remainder of Gose' current term ending on June 30, 2016 and for the first year of a new term beginning on July 1, 2016 and running through June 30, 2017.

Van Berkum nominated John Halbkat.

After calling for nominations two more times, Wheeler declared nominations over.

Motion by Van Berkum, second by Bischoff, and unanimously carried to appoint John Halbkat to serve as School Board Member for the remainder of Gose' current term ending on June 30, 2016 and for the first year of a new term beginning on July 1, 2016 and running through June 30, 2017.

Motion by Bischoff, second by Van Berkum, and unanimously approved to adjourn at 4:11 p.m.