SPECIAL MEETING HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION – HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY NOVEMBER 28, 2011 – 5:30 p.m.

Roll Call: John Halbkat, President; and members: Tim VanBerkum, Nichole

Yost, Steve Fryberger, and Michele Bennett. Student members: Arthur Hines and Michael Nicholas. Superintendent Terry Nebelsick, and Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Arthur Hines.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to adopt the agenda as amended.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda including the following items: (1) The hiring of Lorena Blum/substitute teacher/\$85 per day; Jerry Dennis/substitute custodian/\$11.44 per hour; Wilber Williams/substitute bus driver/\$11.65 per hour; Calista Sterling/substitute custodian/\$11.44 per hour; Veronica Felicia/student worker; Braedon Hinker/student worker; Jeffrey Dicks/custodian/\$29,168; Maria Rivera/interpreter/\$16.15 per hour; and Eh Myee Paw/student interpreter/\$10.50 per hour. (2) Open enrollment requests OE-2011-10, OE-2011-11, OE-2011-12, OE-2011-13, OE-2011-14, and OE-2011-15. (3) Move the Board meeting and the negotiations meeting to Monday, April 9 from Tuesday, April 10 because April 10 is the scheduled city/school election. (4) Move the site for the Board meetings to the Instructional Planning Center located in the Huron Arena beginning January 9.

Celebrate Successes

Congratulated Kaitlyn Allerdings for being selected to the Class AA All-Tournament Volleyball Team.

Congratulated Tyler Hajek, Spencer Stahly, Drake Anshutz, John Hott, Jerrod Sterrett, Raleigh Jungemann, Lucas Davis, Luke Carr, Jarren Duffy, Tarin Hupp, Courtney Johnson, and Kristi Caviezel who have been named to the SD Football Coaches Association 2011 Academic All-State Team. Players or managers must be a senior with a 3.5 grade point average or above and have played or managed for three years of football to earn the honor.

Congratulated the Huron freshman volleyball team who finished 17-2 and the sophomore volleyball team who finished 18-2 during the 2011 season.

Congratulated the Competitive Cheer Squad for 3rd place in Large Stunting/Non-Tumbling at the State Tournament.

Congratulated the Competitive Dance Squad for 4th in Pom; 5th in Jazz; and 4th in Hip Hop at the State Tournament.

Congratulated Marianne Trandall, MS Lang Arts, and Teresa Smith, MS vocal music, and many middle school students for their production of the musical, "Pompadours and Poodle Skirts."

Congratulated recently recognized Scholars in the NSU Master's in Classroom Teaching: Angie Klein, HS Lang Arts; Linda Pietz, 5th Grade at HMS; Sharon Engelhart, Science at HMS; Elizabeth Stewart, 5th Grade at HMS; Chris Stahly, HS Lang Arts; Erica Boomsma, Madison 4th Grade; Mandy DeJong, MS Lang Arts; and Brooke Cunard, Kindergarten.

Congratulated recently recognized Scholars in the NSU Master's in School Administration: Robin Gigov, Social Learning Classroom; and Rodney Mittelstedt, World History/Aim High.

Thanked HHS students who recently hosted a 30-Hour Famine to raise money to help those who are starving. Students who participated include: Kristina Lawrence, Dillon Peterson, Dirk Peterson, Lexi Eckmann, Lexi Riggs, Erin Scheibe, Anna Scheibe, Josee Schwartz, Megan Kopfmann, Alex Kopfmann, and Tabitha Schmidt

Thanked all homerooms who participated in this year's food drive. A total of 1107 items was collected. The Senior Class qualified for both a pizza party and a doughnut party. Congratulations to the following homerooms: Freshmen/Coughlin/Doughnut party/34 items; Sophomores/Reid/Doughnut party/41 items; Juniors/Klein/Doughnut party/75 items; Seniors/Fitzgerald/ Doughnut party/103 items; and Gaffer/Pizza party/299 items. Also thanked all other students and schools who participated in this year's food drive.

Reports

Assessment Report/National Assessment of Educational Progress – Cindy Niederbaumer reported on the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP).

General Fund Projection – Kelly Christopherson presented a projection of revenues, expenditures, and fund balances in the General Fund for the coming years.

Superintendent's Report – The Superintendent gave a report on a timeline for the Board to review all Board Policies.

Dates to Remember – November 29 is Math Night/Crossroads/6-8 p.m. December 7 is Early Release/In-service. December 14 is the District Open House/

Instructional Planning Center. December 23 is the end of the first semester. December 26 through January 2 is Christmas Vacation. On January 3 HS/MS Students return to class. On January 4 Elementary/Kindergarten return to class.

Community Input
None.
Old Business
None.
New Business
The School Board discussed a request from Mr. Brian Hines that the Board forbid teachers the discretion of using "grading Points" or "assignment credit" as a motivation for charitable giving. The Board discussed possible ways community service can be part of a grade, their individual thoughts on the issue, and whether this issue should be handled by the Board or by the Administrators. Mr. Frank Hines addressed the Board and commented on his experience with the food drive at Madison Elementary last year. Mr. Brian Hines addressed the Board and commented that he is in favor of community service but is against giving grading points as an incentive for donations. Demi Moon, Principal, was requested to address the Board and she explained the history of giving credit as a motivation for charitable giving at HHS. The Superintendent will research the issue further and meet with the Administrators regarding this issue. The Superintendent will then report to the Board.
Motion by VanBerkum, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to declare 62 computers surplus property and to authorize them to be traded in on 62 new computers.
Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to enter executive session to discuss a personnel matter at 7:15 p.m.
Motion by Yost, second by Bennett, and unanimously approved to exit executive session at 7:29 p.m.
Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 7:29 p.m.
John Halbkat, President Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager